It stands 1.5km up from the north gate of the fort on Mt. Taehung of Koryo Kingdom situated above the Pakyon Falls.
It was built in 970 and the present temple was rebuilt in 1646. In 970 a priest in charge of laws put a pair of images of the Buddhist Goddess of Mercy in the cave in the western corner of the front yard of the Main Shrine and called the cave Kwanum. Since then it has been called Kwanum Temple.
It is not so big, but built without using nails, the wooden hall is very unique in architecture and decorations. The 7-storey stone pagoda stands in front of the hall. The original images of the Buddhist Goddess of Mercy are still preserved in the cave. Made in the middle days of Koryo Kingdom, the images attract visitors as precious historical remains.